All about headquarters and divisions of the Indian railway Zones

Zones or Regional Indian Railways is divided for administrative convenience into several states.

After 9 Zones since Railway Reforms 7 New zones have been created, giving a total of 16. In 2010.

Deemed zones:

  • Kolkata Metro (given zonal status Dec. 29, 2010)
  • Konkan Railway (deemed a zone for administrative purposes)

Through following Table easy to understand:

Zone Headquarters Divisions
New zones that started in April 2003
East Coast Railway Bhubaneshwar Khurda Road, Waltair, and Sambalpur divisions of SER
South Western Railway Hubli Bangalore and Mysore divisions of SR, reorganized Hubli division of SCR, including Hospet-Toranagal.
(Earlier constituted to have Guntakal division of SCR as well.)
West Central Railway Jabalpur Jabalpur and Bhopal divisions of CR, reorganized Kota division of WR
North Central Railway Allahabad Reorganized divisions: Allahabad of NR, Jhansi of CR, and new Agra division
South East Central Railway Bilaspur Nagpur division and reorganized Bilaspur division of SER, new Raipur division
New zones that were created in 2002
North Western Railway Jaipur Jodhpur division and reorganized Bikaner division of NR, reorganized Jaipur and Ajmer divisions of WR
East Central Railway Hajipur Sonpur and Samastipur divisions of NER, Danapur, Mughalsarai, and Dhanbad divisions of ER.
(Was earlier constituted to have Katihar division of NFR as well.)
Old zones as they are after April 2003
Western Railway Mumbai Bhavnagar and Mumbai divisions, reorganized Ratlam, Rajkot and Vadodara divisions, new Ahmedabad division
Central Railway Mumbai Bhusawal and Nagpur divisions, reorganized Mumbai CST and Solapur divisions, new Pune division (including Pune-Kolhapur)
Eastern Railway Kolkata Howrah, Malda, Sealdah, and Asansol divisions
Southern Railway Chennai Chennai, Palghat, Tiruchirapalli, Thiruvananthapuram, and Madurai divisions (a Salem division has been proposed [7/06])
Northern Railway New Delhi/Delhi Ferozpur, Ambala, Lucknow and Moradabad divisions, reorganized Delhi division
North Eastern Railway Gorakhpur Lucknow and Varanasi divisions, reorganized Izzatnagar division
South Central Railway Secunderabad Reorganized Secunderabad, Hyderabad, Guntakal (including Bellary-Guntakal (MG) and Bellary-Rayadurg), and Vijayawada divisions, new Guntur and Nanded divisions.
South Eastern Railway Kolkata Kharagpur division, reorganized Adra and Chakradharpur divisions, new Ranchi division
Northeast Frontier Railway Guwahati Katihar, Lumding, Tinsukia divisions, reorganized Alipurduar division, new Rangiya division

If found Wrong details please informed us through Comments

All about headquarters and divisions of the Indian railway Zones

Leave a Reply